News Release

2022 Aug 26
AEON Stores (Hong Kong) Co., Limited

AEON STORES RECORDS INCREASE IN REVENUE IN 2022 FIRST HALF AMID DIFFICULT BUSINESS ENVIRONMENT

AEON Stores (Hong Kong) Co., Limited (“AEON Stores” or the “Group”; Stock code: 984) has announced today its interim results for the six months ended 30 June 2022. The Coronavirus Disease 2019 (“COVID-19”) has lingered on for almost three years and continued to impact the retail market and business operation in the period. Although many regions have become accustomed to the effect of the pandemic and the resultant "new normal", COVID-19 still had a negative impact on the world across various facets, and combined with geopolitical risks, has continued to affect the global economy. In the face of these challenges, the Group continued to adopt flexible business strategies to maintain market competitiveness.

In the six months ended 30 June 2022, the Group’s revenue increased by 5.0% year-on-year to HK$5,048.7 million, while gross profit margin increased by 0.1% to 28.3% (2021 1H: 28.2%). The Group recorded a loss attributable to owners of the Company of HK$144.6 million (2021 1H: loss of HK$245.4 million) for the period. The Group maintained a healthy cash position with cash and bank balances and short term time deposits amounting to HK$1,678.0 million as at 30 June 2022 (31 December 2021: HK$1,833.6 million).

After reviewing the dividend policy, the Board recommended payment of an interim dividend of HK$0.03 per share (2021 1H: HK$0.03 per share) to adhere to its philosophy of bringing returns to shareholders.

Mr. Isao Sugawara, Executive Director and Managing Director of AEON Stores, said, “During the first half of the year, the Group’s business was impacted by the ongoing difficult market environment, stemming from the continued COVID-19 outbreak in Hong Kong and PRC, as well as wider macroeconomic factors. In the face of challenges, the Group adopted flexible business strategies in order to remain competitive and match evolved customer needs under the “new normal”. The Group continued to elevate its portfolio of innovative and quality assured Japanese products, placing emphasis on own brands such as “TOPVALU” and “HÓME CÓORDY”, and focusing on direct-importing more merchandise from Japan to capitalize on the procurement channels of AEON Japan. Consequently, the Group managed to raise revenue under such circumstances and improved its results.”

Hong Kong Operations

The outbreak of the fifth wave of the pandemic in January 2022 again disrupted the gradual recovery of the local economy in the first half year. Local consumption sentiment continued to be sluggish amid various social distancing measures. However, boosted by the distribution of the first round of consumer vouchers in April 2022, local consumer activity became more dynamic and the Group's sales performance also improved in the second quarter when compared with the first quarter.

In the first half of 2022, the Group opened its fourth AEON STYLE store in Yau Tong. The layout of the new store has been planned to accommodate the lifestyle of young families and office workers in the vicinity, and also introduced various new Japanese-related elements, including a wide range of high-quality merchandise at affordable prices, as well as new lifestyle solutions to provide an enriched shopping experience and enjoyable, healthy and quality shopping fun. Besides, the Group entered into a regional franchise agreement with KOMEDA Co., Ltd. from Japan in May, to open "KOMEDA's Coffee" in Hong Kong, accelerating the development of AEON Hong Kong's specialty restaurant chain business. The Group’s Hong Kong operations recorded a 4.2% increase of revenue to HK$2,347.2 million in the first half of the year (2021 1H: HK$2,252.6 million), while loss of the Hong Kong operations decreased to HK$76.1 million (2021 1H: loss of HK$105.9 million).

During the period, the Group continued to advance its strategic cooperation with Daiso Industries Co., Ltd. (“DAISO”) and its related store network expansion plan. It opened 1 DAISO flagship store in Mongkok in June and introduced Threeppy, a new brand adopting the theme "Happy Life Begins with 300 Yen", for the first time to offer more diversified products to satisfy the daily needs of customers.

PRC Operations

In the first half of 2022, the domestic outbreak of the pandemic was present in many parts of the PRC and affected most provinces in the country, placing pressure on the consumer market’s operation. Sporadic infection cases were reported in Guangdong Province and Shenzhen from time to time, and the situation was particularly severe at the beginning of the year. Stringent prevention and control measures, such as community lockdowns, suspension of public transportation and suspension of work and schooling, largely shut down areas and hindered the day-to-day operations of enterprises. Some of the Group’s stores in the Mainland had to be temporarily suspended at the request of the authorities, thus affecting its business performance.

In spite of the negative environmental factors in the first half year, revenue from the PRC operations increased 5.8% to HK$2,701.5 million (2021 1H: HK$2,554.5 million); one loss-making store was closed and loss of the PRC operations decreased to HK$85.6 million (2021 1H: loss of HK$123.4 million).

Prospects

Global health issues remain a concern along with risk of resurgence of the pandemic. In addition, problems such as widespread real estate market risk, the continuous spread of global inflationary pressure and a high unemployment rate will continue to add pressure on the PRC and Hong Kong economy, and in turn the general consumer sentiment and retail performance in the latter half of the year. In the face of rapidly changing consumption behaviour under the “new normal,” the Group will flexibly adopt various measures to improve its business performance.

In Hong Kong, the Group has plans for various promotional activities and the launching of different product offers to leverage on related opportunities in the market, such as the launch of Phase II of the Consumption Voucher Scheme in early August, in order to generate revenue for the Group while boosting local consumption. Meanwhile, the Group’s first "KOMEDA's Coffee" shop is expected to open in the AEON STYLE Whampoa in October. It will present a new Japanese style coffee shop design and the Group looks forward to offering a novel, yet comfortable and satisfying lifestyle experience to customers. The Group will also continue to further expand its network of small specialty stores and deepen its strategic cooperation with Daiso.

Regarding PRC operations, given the sporadic outbreaks and possibility of pandemic resurgence in Guangdong Province, the Group will focus on achieving progress through prudent cost control to promote continuous improvement in business performance. Leveraging its global supply chain to increase the proportion of proprietary brands, the Group expects to boost profitability while accelerating product reform and expanding differentiation. At the same time, it will continue its digital transformation and consolidation and the upgrade of other digital platforms, and strive to improve operational efficiency by optimising and expanding O2O commerce and CRM. As for the store network, the Group will continue to improve its store structure and mix, with a new supermarket set to open in Guangzhou in December 2022 as originally planned.

Mr. Sugawara concluded, “The pandemic has posed unprecedented challenges for people and society around the world, resulting in a continued impact on the global economy and business environment. The Group believes the rising influence of health-conscious consumer behaviour will be a continuing trend and consumers will keep pursuing a higher-quality living standard in the long term. As such, the Group will adhere to our ‘Everything we do, we do for our customers’ commitment and stay ahead of market trends to bring quality merchandise and the best shopping experiences to customers. We would like to express our sincere gratitude to all our customers and stakeholders that have supported us as we continue to take on various market challenges. We will continue to review and adjust existing strategies where necessary, consolidate our fundamental strengths and carry out internal reforms in order to enhance operational productivity and maintain long-term market competitiveness.”

> Back to the directory

About AEON Stores
AEON Stores was established in Hong Kong in 1985 and listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange in 1994. The Group is mainly engaged in the operation of general merchandise stores (GMS). Currently, it operates 10 GMS, 2 independent supermarkets, 42 independent Living PLAZA by AEON, 27 independent Daiso Japan, 1 independent Bento Express by AEON and 4 Mono Mono and 1 KOMEDA'S Coffee in densely populated districts in Hong Kong. It also operates 23 GMS and 13 independent supermarkets in Guangdong Province, the PRC.

For more information:
AEON Stores (Hong Kong) Co., Limited
Corporate Communication Department
Tel.:(852)2165 0777
Email:aeonpr@aeonstores.com.hk

page top

新聞公佈

2022年08月26日
永旺(香港)百貨有限公司

儘管經營環境困難 永旺百貨2022 年上半年收益仍錄得增長

永旺(香港)百貨有限公司(「永旺百貨」或「集團」;股份編號:984)今天公佈截至2022年6月30日止六個月之中期業績。2019冠狀病毒病(「COVID-19」)已持續接近三年,期內繼續影響零售市場及業務營運。雖然多地均逐漸習慣疫情帶來的影響並適應為「新常態」,但疫情仍為世界各地帶來不同層面的影響,疊加地緣政治風險,令環球經濟持續受到打擊。面對重重挑戰,集團繼續採取靈活的經營戰略,以保持市場競爭力。

截至2022年6月30日止六個月,集團收益按年增長5.0%至港幣5,048.7百萬元,毛利率改善0.1%至28.3%(2021年上半年:28.2%),期內錄得公司控股股東應佔虧損為港幣144.6百萬元(2021年上半年:虧損港幣245.4百萬元)。集團財務狀況維持穩健,於2022年6月30日的現金及銀行結存及短期定期存款達港幣1,678.0百萬元(2021年12月31日:港幣1,833.6百萬元)。

董事會審查股息政策後,建議派發中期股息每股港幣0.03元(2021年上半年:港幣0.03元),以回饋股東的支持。

永旺百貨執行董事董事總經理菅原功先生表示:「集團業務於上半年受到市場環境持續困難的影響,這源於中港兩地2019冠狀病毒病疫情持續以及更廣泛的宏觀因素。面對重重挑戰,集團採取靈活的經營策略,以保持競爭力以及滿足在『新常態』下不斷變化的顧客需求。集團繼續加強其新穎及具質量保證的日本產品組合,著重自有品牌『TOPVALU』及『HÓME CÓORDY』,藉著日本永旺集團的採購渠道集中直接從日本進口更多商品。因此,集團在如此環境下仍能提高收益和改善業績。」

香港業務

2022年1月第五波疫情爆發,上半年陸續恢復的本地經濟再次受到干擾。同時,在各種社交距離措施的限制下,本地消費意欲持續低迷。隨著2022年第一輪消費券於4月份派發,本地消費活動一度活躍,而集團第二季之銷售表現較第一季有所改善。

2022年上半年,集團於油塘開設旗下第四間AEON STYLE店舖,按照鄰近地區年輕家庭及上班族的生活模式規劃佈局,亦引進各種日系新元素,包括多樣化的高質素且價格合理商品,並提供適合新常態的全新生活提案,讓顧客購物體驗更豐富,盡享健康又品質的購物樂趣。此外,集團於5月與日本Komeda Co.,Ltd訂立區域特許經營協定,以在香港開設「KOMEDA's Coffee」,加快AEON香港在餐飲連鎖專門店業態方面的發展。集團上半年香港業務收益因此錄得4.2%的上升,至港幣2,347.2百萬元(2021年上半年:港幣2,252.6百萬元),而香港業務虧損減少至港幣76.1百萬元(2021年上半年:虧損港幣105.9百萬元 )。

期內,集團繼續推進與日本大創産業(「Daiso Industries Co., Ltd.」)的戰略合作,擴展小型專賣店的網絡。DAISO旗艦店於6月進駐旺角,並首次引入以「300日元開始的快樂生活」為主題的全新品牌Threeppy,涵蓋更多商品,滿足不同顧客的日常生活需要。

中國業務

2022年上半年,國內疫情於多地爆發,波及全國大多數省份,導致消費市場運行承壓。廣東省及深圳不時出現零星個案,當中以年初情況尤為嚴重。嚴格的防控措施如小區封控、公共交通暫停運作、停工停學等均令地區停擺,同時窒礙企業日常運作,集團內地的部分店舖須應當局要求而暫時停止營業,因而影響業務表現。

儘管環境因素不利,中國業務上半年收益部分上升5.8%至港幣2,701.5百萬元(2021年上半年:港幣2,554.5百萬元),關閉一間虧損店鋪,中國業務業績虧損下跌至港幣85.6百萬元(2021年上半年:虧損港幣123.4百萬元 )。

展望

國際衞生問題仍然嚴峻,疫情仍有再次爆發的風險,加上房地產風險波及甚廣、全球通脹壓力繼續蔓延、失業率高企等問題將繼續為內地及香港經濟施加壓力,進而影響下半年的整體消費情緒和零售表現。面對消費習慣不斷變化及新常態,集團將靈活開展各項應對措施,以此提升業績表現。

香港業務方面,集團計劃開展多項推廣活動及推出不同產品優惠,以把握市場相關機遇,尤其已經於8月初發放的第二期消費券計劃不僅為集團帶來收益,亦能一同刺激和振興本地經濟。另一方面,集團首間「KOMEDA's Coffee」店舖預計在10月於AEON STYLE黃埔開業,並採用了日本店傳統風格,期望能為顧客帶來新奇而舒適滿意的生活體驗。此外,集團將繼續進一步拓展小型專賣店網絡,並深化與Daiso的戰略合作。

中國業務方面,鑑於廣東省仍有零星的疫情出現和再次爆發的風險,集團將通過審慎的成本控制以持續改善業務表現。運用AEON全球供應鏈提高自家品牌的佔比,集團期望改善盈利表現並加速商品改革並擴大差異化。同時,集團亦會繼續推進數字化轉型及其他數碼平台的鞏固及升級工程,透過優化及擴張O2O業務及CRM以提高經營效率。店舖網絡方面,集團將持續改善商舖結構組合,預期2022年12月將按原定計劃於廣州開設1間超級市場。

菅原先生總結:「疫情對全球各地的人和社會帶來前所未有的挑戰,因而對全球經濟及經營環境持續造成打擊。集團相信,關注健康的消費行為的影響日益增加,將繼續成為趨勢,同時消費者亦追求長期更高質素的生活水平。為此,集團會秉持『一切為了顧客』的承諾,帶領市場趨勢,向顧客提供優質商品和最佳購物體驗。我們衷心感謝所有顧客和持份者,他們一直以來在我們持續面臨各種市場挑戰時給予支持。我們將繼續檢討現有策略並在有必要時作出調整,整合本身的基本優勢,開展內部改革,務求提升經營生產力,保持長期的市場競爭力。」

> 回到目錄

關於永旺百貨
永旺(香港)百貨有限公司成立於1985年,並於1994年在香港聯合交易所上市,其主要業務為經營綜合購物百貨店(GMS)。目前永旺百貨於香港人口密集的地區開設10間綜合購物百貨店(GMS)、2間獨立超級市場、42間獨立Living PLAZA by AEON、27間獨立Daiso Japan、1間獨立Bento Express by AEON及4間ものもの及1間KOMEDA'S Coffee,並於廣東省開設23間GMS及13間獨立超級市場。

傳媒垂詢:
永旺(香港)百貨有限公司
企業傳訊部
電話:(852)2165 0777
電郵:aeonpr@aeonstores.com.hk

page top