News Release

2021 Aug 27
AEON Stores (Hong Kong) Co., Limited

AEON STORES CONTINUED TO EXPAND NEW BUSINESS AND STORE MODEL WHILE BRINGING IN MORE QUALITY PRIVATE BRANDS AND DIRECT IMPORT PRODUCTS AMIDST THE PANDEMIC

(HONG KONG, 27 August 2021) – AEON Stores (Hong Kong) Co., Limited (“AEON Stores” or the “Group”; Stock code: 984) has announced today its interim results for the six months ended 30 June 2021. The Coronavirus Disease 2019 (“COVID-19”) continued in the period. Although there were signs of easing, daily activities around the world were still affected and the retail market was inevitably hit. To address the challenges the pandemic brings and the continuous changes of customers’ behavior under the pandemic, the Group reacted to the market changes as appropriate with its operating strategies to maintain its competitiveness.

In the six months ended 30 June 2021, the Group’s revenue decreased by 6.8% year-on-year to HK$4,807.1 million, yet gross profit margin maintained at 28.2% (2020 1H: 28.2%). The Group recorded a loss attributable to owners of the Company of HK$245.4 million (2020 1H: loss of HK$72 million) for the period. The Group maintained a healthy cash position with cash and bank balances and short term time deposits amounting to HK$1,789.8 million as at 30 June 2021 (31 December 2020: HK$2,001.6 million).

After reviewing the dividend policy, the Board recommended payment of an interim dividend of HK$0.03 per share (2020 1H: HK$0.05 per share) to adhere to its philosophy of bringing returns to shareholders.

Mr. Isao Sugawara, Executive Director and Managing Director of AEON Stores, said, “During the past months, the Group was inevitably affected by the ongoing uncertainties in the market. Nevertheless, understanding Hong Kong people are particularly fond of innovative and quality assured Japanese products, the Group continued to introduce own brands such as “HÓME CÓORDY” and “TOPVALU”, plus capitalize on the procurement channels of AEON Japan to direct import more merchandise from Japan, thus matching the ever changing customer needs and providing customers with brand new shopping experiences, while achieving its strategies to expand and improve.”

Hong Kong Operations

With the COVID-19 pandemic continued, and outbound travel grinding to a halt plus strict social distancing measures, the Hong Kong economy remained weak in the first half of 2021, where consumer activities were also disrupted. On the other hand, the demand for stay at home related items were less than the corresponding period in last year, due to the COVID-19 attack gradually kept under control and the relaxation of dining out restriction measures. Sales performance was therefore affected.

However, the Group remained committed to enhancing shopping experiences to customers during the period. Coming from thought given to consumers’ lifestyle today, the Group completed small scale renovations in 3 stores, and brought in more products that suit the requirements of customers in the neighborhood and seasonal product choices, so as to satisfy different customers’ specific daily needs. Besides, the Group further enhanced its on-line business services by partnering with foodpanda mall since February to offer sales and home delivery services for a variety of supermarket items. The Group’s Hong Kong operations recorded a 7.0% decrease of revenue to HK$2,252.6 million in the first half of the year (2020 1H: HK$2,423.3 million), while loss of the Hong Kong operations increased to HK$105.9 million (2020 1H: loss of HK$66.6 million).

During the period, the Group pressed on with related expansion plan. It opened 2 “Living Plaza” stores and 1 lifestyle specialty store “ものもの (Mono Mono)”, and reviewed and strengthened the store opening, establishment and operation system.

PRC Operations

Apart from tense external relations slowing down economic growth in the PRC, the COVID-19 also caused customers’ lifestyles and consumption pattern further tend to shop nearby and online. Consequently, number of customers visited and shopped in shopping centres was adversely affected. Guangzhou, Foshan and Dongguan cities saw rebound of the COVID-19 cases in the period, where the Group’s store business operated in these areas had been significantly affected. Some of these stores had to suspend operations temporarily at the request of the authority.

In the first half year, revenue from the PRC operations dropped 6.6% to HK$2,554.5 million (2020 1H: HK$2,734.4 million) and recorded a loss of the PRC operations of HK$123.4 million (2020 1H: profit of HK$2.1 million).

Prospects

With the territory-wide vaccination drive in progress and the global economy recovering, consumption desire as well as retail performance are expected to gradually pick up. Facing customers’ changing preferences and the new normal, the Group will react quickly with various measures to improve its performance.

In Hong Kong, the Group has organized various promotional activities and launched different bonus offers to capture related opportunities, especially under the launch of the Consumption Voucher Scheme, so as to bring in revenue as well as help stimulate and revitalize the local economy. As the third “AEON STYLE” store in Hong Kong opened at Gala Place, Mongkok in early August 2021, it provides customers with quality shopping experience and new lifestyle solutions, accelerating the expansion of such successful business model in the Hong Kong market. The new store offers products of the Group’s own “HÓME CÓORDY” brand, proprietary “TOPVALU” brand and TOPVALU Gurinai Natural food products, which are developed with a focus on health and the environment, and also other new products from Japan. Moreover, the Group expects its strategic partnership with DAISO Industries Co., Ltd. will expedite opening of small scale store in the future. In July 2021, the Group has added 3 more independent DAISO Japan shops to its retail network.

Regarding PRC operations, given that the pandemic remains active in Guangdong Province, the Group will continue to respond to the uncertain economic outlook with prudence. The Group will, at the same time, continue to optimize and reform its products and expand differentiation, such as increasing the share of its own brands to improve profitability. Moreover, the Group will also accelerate its digital transformation, including the expansion of O2O and the vigorous promotion of CRM. The Group will move forward with its store expansion plan to open three new stores in the latter half year, in addition to three new stores opened in first half year, thereby achieve the set goal of opening six stores in the Greater Bay Area this year.

Mr. Sugawara concluded, “The pandemic continuously creates challenges to the business environment. AEON, however, is dedicated to supporting the community as usual by staying ahead of market trends while keeping our customers in mind. With that being said, the Group would not have gone this far without the strong support from our customers as well as other stakeholders. The Group would like to express our sincere gratitude to you all and we will continue to fulfil our ‘Everything we do, we do for our customers’ commitment to deliver more delightful shopping experiences to our customers, and create stable returns for shareholders and stakeholders.”

> Back to the directory

About AEON Stores
AEON Stores was established in Hong Kong in 1985 and listed on the Hong Kong Stock Exchange in 1994. The Group is mainly engaged in the operation of general merchandise stores (GMS). Currently, it operates 9 GMS, 3 independent supermarkets, 55 independent Living PLAZA by AEON, 8 independent Daiso Japan, 2 independent Bento Express by AEON and 3 Mono Mono in densely populated districts in Hong Kong. It also operates 23 GMS, 11 independent supermarkets and 1 shopping centre in Guangdong Province, the PRC.

For more information:
AEON Stores (Hong Kong) Co., Limited
Corporate Communication Department
Tel.:(852)2165 0777
Fax:(852)2563 8654
Email:aeonpr@aeonstores.com.hk

page top

新聞公佈

2021年08月27日
永旺(香港)百貨有限公司

永旺百貨疫情下持續拓展新業務及新店鋪模式 增加優質自有品牌及直接進口商品

(2021年8月27日,香港訊) – 永旺(香港)百貨有限公司(「永旺百貨」或「集團」;股份編號:984)今天公佈2021年6月30日止六個月之中期業績。期內2019冠狀病毒病(「COVID-19」)疫情持續,雖然有緩和跡象,但仍影響全球各地的日常運作,零售市場無可避免的受到打撃。為應對疫情帶來的挑戰及其為消費者帶來的持續變化,集團根據市場變化作出適當反應並調整經營戰略,以保持競爭力。

截至2021年6月30日止六個月,集團收入按年下降6.8%至港幣48億零710萬元,毛利率維持於28.2%(2020年上半年:28.2%),期內錄得本公司控股股東應佔虧損為港幣2億4千540萬元(2020年上半年:虧損港幣7千200 萬元)。集團財務狀況維持穩健,於2021年6月30日的現金及銀行結存及短期定期存款達港幣17億8千980萬元(2020年12月31日:港幣20億零160萬元)。

董事會審查股息政策後,建議派發中期股息每股0.03港元(2020年上半年:0.05港元),以回饋股東的支持。

永旺百貨執行董事董事總經理菅原功先生表示:「於過去數月,集團無可避免地受市場的不確定因素影響。然而,集團明白香港人特別鍾情於創新而有品質保證的日本商品,因此,我們繼續從日本引入自家品牌如「HÓME CÓORDY」和「TOPVALU」,及更活用日本永旺集團強大的商品採購網,擴大直接進口的日本商品,以配合不斷變化的顧客需求,為他們提供全新的購物體驗,實行提升及改善之策略。」

香港業務

COVID-19疫情持續,加上外訪旅遊嚴重受阻,及社交距離措施的窒礙,香港經濟在2021年上半年仍然疲弱,消費活動亦受干擾。另一方面,疫情逐漸得到控制,外出用餐限制措施的放寬令大眾對居家相關物品的需求比去年同期相比有所減少,影響了集團銷售表現。

然而,集團未有鬆懈,期內致力為顧客提升購物體驗,按照顧客現今的生活模式重新規劃佈局3間門店,同時引入更多迎合地區顧客需求及季節性的商品,實行全方位照顧每位顧客日常生活的不同需要。此外,集團於2月始與foodpanda mall 合作,提供多樣超市單品於網上銷售及送貨到家服務,進一步加強集團的線上業務。集團香港業務上半年收益錄得7.0%的下降,至港幣2,252.6百萬元(2020年上半年:港幣2,423.3百萬元)。香港業務虧損增加至港幣105.9百萬元(2020年上半年:虧損港幣66.6百萬元 )。

期內,集團繼續落實有關店舖的擴充計劃,開設2間Living Plaza及1間品味生活百貨專門店Mono Mono,並同時檢視及強化開店、建設及營運體制。

中國業務

除中外關係持續緊張令國內經濟增長放緩外,COVID-19令顧客的生活方式和消費模式進一步傾向於在鄰近及線上購物,因此顧客到訪購物中心及消費的情況受到影響。期內廣州、佛山和東莞市錄得的COVID-19病例的反彈,對集團在這些地區經營的商店業務產生了重大影響。其中一些商店不得不在當局的要求下暫時停止營業。

中國業務上半年收益部分下降6.6%至港幣2,554.5百萬元(2020年上半年:港幣2,734.4百萬元)。期內中國業務業績錄得虧損港幣123.4百萬元(2020年上半年:溢利港幣2.1百萬元 )。

展望

隨着疫苗接種計劃廣泛推行及環球經濟復甦,相信消費情緒及零售表現將逐步回暖。集團面向顧客變化及新常態,將快速地實踐各項應對措施,以此提升集團業績。

香港業務方面,為把握有關機遇,尤其在消費券計劃的推出下,集團已舉辦各項推廣活動及推出不同的商品優惠,希望為集團帶來收益之餘,亦能一同刺激和振興本地經濟。集團於2021年8月初在旺角家樂坊開設了全港第三間「AEON STYLE」,除了提供自家品牌「HÓME CÓORDY」、「TOPVALU」商品及關注「人體健康及對自然環境友善」而研發的TOPVALU Gurinai Natural食品外,亦引入更多日本新產品,務求帶給顧客優質的購物體驗和全新的生活方案,並將此成功的店鋪模式,加速在香港市場拓展。此外,集團與大創産業株式會社(「DAISO Japan」)的戰略夥伴關係將加快未來小型專門店的開業速度。2021年7月,本集團在其零售網路中增加了3家獨立DAISO店舖。

中國業務方面,鑒於疫情在廣東省仍然活躍,集團將繼續採取謹慎態度以應對不明朗的經濟前景,同時將持續優化改革產品及擴大差異化,如提高自家品牌的佔比以改善盈利表現。此外,集團會加快數字化轉型,包括O2O的擴張以及CRM的大力推廣。集團亦會繼續落實開設新店計劃,計及上半年開設的3家新店,今年下半年將開設3間新店,以完成全年於大灣區開設6間店舖的目標。

菅原先生總結:「雖然疫情持續為營商環境帶來挑戰,但AEON仍然領先於市場趨勢,並時刻由顧客的角度出發,服務和支援社區。這段困難時期實有賴顧客及各界大力支持,集團衷心感謝大家,並會繼續致力實現『一切全為顧客』的宗旨,提供更多愉悅的購物體驗予顧客,同時為股東及持份者創造穩定之回報。」

> 回到目錄

關於永旺百貨
永旺(香港)百貨有限公司成立於1985年,並於1994年在香港聯合交易所上市,其主要業務為經營綜合購物百貨店(GMS)。目前永旺百貨於香港人口密集的地區開設9間綜合購物百貨店(GMS)、3間獨立超級市場、56間獨立Living PLAZA by AEON、6間獨立Daiso Japan、2間獨立Bento Express by AEON及3間ものもの,並於廣東省開設23間GMS、11間獨立超級市場及1間購物中心。

傳媒垂詢:
永旺(香港)百貨有限公司
企業傳訊部
電話:(852)2165 0777
傳真:(852)2563 8654
電郵:aeonpr@aeonstores.com.hk

page top